Round Robin Time!

So the lovely and talented Lisa the Librarian, who hosted a wonderful pennant swap last year, decided to host an altered book round robin this year with some of the pennant participants. We each chose a theme and started a children’s board book on its way. The first book I received was from Barbara, who chose the theme “self-portraits.” Fortunately she added the phrase “anything goes” in her theme description, so I didn’t feel pressured to try and draw a portrait of myself! (That would have been, well…interesting, to say the least.)

Instead I borrowed a page idea from Theresa McFayden’s on-line journal class, and divided the pages into “compartments,” each containing a representation of something I value. I also included a cut-up photo from my work I.D. badge, which is one of the best pictures I have of myself (if, of course, you don’t count the one in which I’m suddenly a size 2 and hanging out with Johnny Depp).

While it looks simple (and is simple in concept), this type of spread takes a very long time to do. You have to cut papers and images to fit the spaces and then paint or add paper so that each space has a different background. It’s a lot of fun, though, and turns out kind of neat.

self portrait pages

The quote on the left page reads:  “I dreamed a thousand new paths…I woke and walked my  old one.”  Which could mean either I’m totally stuck in a rut, or I just like being where I am and doing what I’m doing.  My story, and I’m sticking to it, is the latter.  🙂

4 Responses to “Round Robin Time!”

  1. Linda Jacobs Says:

    Beautiful job on this page, Lisa! I like how all the elements come together to create you! I have no idea what I will do for this book when it gets to me.

    I’m working on the “Cozy” book right now but haven’t gotten very far. Next week is winter vacation for us so I’ll have more time to get it done before the end of the month.

    Again, great job and I can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. Cindy Says:

    Love your page! I have been thinking a lot about what I am going to do for self portrait and do not have any definate thoughts yet. I know I will soon though! Don’t forget tomorrow is a post office holiday. I don’t want you to drive there and find out then. 😦

  3. Barbara Hagerty Says:

    It’s wonderful, Lisa!! I can’t wait till it gets back to me and I get to see it up close and in person!! Thank you so much for such a lovely 2-page spread!! And by the way, you and Cap’n Jack look marvellous together!! XOXO

  4. Lisa Says:

    Lisa, I love how you interpreted Barbara’s self-portrait theme! I must say, it is the one theme that is causing me the most deliberation. I at least have a starting point in mind for the others.

Leave a Reply

