Mind Wide Open! Mostly…

The wonderful gals at Mind Wide Open have posted their February challenge, and what a beautiful image we had to work with! The word prompt this time is “dream” – very apropros, considering how dreamy the image is.

I was in a bit of a hurry again this time as work and other obligations prevented getting to this until the day before it’s due, which happens to be my birthday. (Don’t even ask how old I’m going to be…it’s just too depressing!) The reason I can’t work on it on my birthday is because – drumroll – I’m going to Disney World! For those who don’t know, this year you can get into Disneyland or Disney World for free on your birthday (and only on your birthday). You have to register ahead of time and then present the certificate they email you at the will-call window along with a picture I.D. I can’t remember the exact web site, but if you Google “disney birthday free,” you’ll find it.

Anyway, back to the challenge. Last year I acquired a small collection of blue glass bottles when Dude and I visited a couple of giant flea markets in the spring. I hadn’t done anything with them yet, and I wanted to really go “outside the box” this time. So voila – a decorated bottle. I have to say, this is probably my favorite Mind Wide Open challenge entry so far, and ironically, it took me the least amount of time to do!

blue bottle

The ribbon is vintage seam binding from my gal pal Terri; the “ghost” wings are by Heidi Swapp, the flourish at the bottom is stamped with Staz-On ink and the charm was recently culled from an old Tim Holtz class project that I no longer liked.  What do you think; should I put a cork in it?  (I mean the bottle, of course.)

7 Responses to “Mind Wide Open! Mostly…”

  1. Terri Says:

    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday to you!
    Happy Birthday, Dear Lisa
    Happy Birthday to you!

    Of course we knew you meant the bottle! It might be cute with a cork in it. It’s already super cute though. I like it.

    Have a wonderful time at Disney – I’m so glad it’s warming up a little for you.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Wishing you a great birthday and a wonderful day at the magic kingdom!
    Hmmmm, I wonder how old ‘don’t even ask’ is?? Does it end in zero?

    The MWO bottle is awesome!! Outside the box resulted in outside the bottle! Did I mention that it is awesome??

    “…..put a cork in it……” Ha!

  3. Joy Says:

    Cork or no cork, it’s gorgeous. Love the blue glass. And happy birthday to you!

  4. ArtSnark Says:

    Love your piece! The blue is so vibrant & really compliments your embellishments. Hope you had a “magical” birthday!

  5. Tacey Says:

    What a awesome job you did with the picture and the lovely blue glass bottle! I love it.

  6. Anni Says:

    Love the blue bottle you have done a wonderful job with the decoration.

  7. nan Says:

    Love it! You made a great piece with the artwork this month! Now just drape some beads around it and you have next months project ready!

Leave a Reply

