The Cat Sack…to be

It’s been a very long time since I’ve taken an art class, and frankly, things were getting a bit dire.  Two of the mixed-media conventions that I used to attend every year have gone by the wayside and the best ones are now impractically far away.  So it was with great interest that I read a recent Joggles newsletter and discovered that they offer online classes – and some pretty darned good ones, too!  I couldn’t resist signing up for Michelle Verbeek’s “cat sack” class, which started yesterday.  How adorable are these, seriously?!

cat sacks

Hello, I’m Fluffy and this is Stripey and Felix and Miss Kitty and Whiskers.

I talked my gal pal Terri into joining the class with me and we went shopping a couple days ago for fabrics. That was way fun, despite that we had very little idea of what we were doing. I originally decided to make a green sack, but then I found a green print with some purple leaves on it and was inspired to add purple accents. Here are snippets of the fabrics I chose.

cat fabrics

I’m hoping that by posting my intention to make this, I will be forced into actually finishing it (something I’m not the best at when a project takes more than a couple hours to do).  I’m a little nervous about the process because I’ve never done anything that involves “lowering the feed dogs” on my sewing machine. (However, I’m thinking that since this is a cat, it might be best to have those “feed dogs” as low as possible. They could be dangerous.)

It helps that the lessons are broken down into weekly steps so I can take all the time I need, and I like that there’s a message forum in which we can ask all the dumb questions we want to.  (Yes, of course I’ve already asked several.)  I’m rather excited to see how this turns out!

3 Responses to “The Cat Sack…to be”

  1. Lisa Says:

    This is going to be fun to watch unfold! Don’t be nervous now that you know you being watched….on the clock…..under the gun…….(insert Jeopardy music here)
    You could have quite a fracas on your hands when those cats and feed dogs get together!!

  2. Terri Says:

    I love your fabric choices, green and purples are so good together. It’s going to be a great Cat Sack! You better finish this after you talked me into making one, too! (I still have a Sally Sweater sitting about half finished in my closet! Do you still have yours?)

  3. Cindy Says:

    Oh boy! I can hardly wait to see how these cats turn out!

Leave a Reply

