From the Heart

So I just got tagged by lovely Lisa the librarian over at Simple Journeys. The directions are “go to your computer’s picture files, then go to the 6th folder, then go to the 6th picture and display it.”

Alas, I’m not particularly organized; my photo folder has only two sub-folders in it! So I decided to display the 6th picture in the second folder. Thankfully it’s a decent one.  This is my niece, Ashley, in 2005 when she was seven. My dad gave her the giant stuffed duck (“Dumpy”) when she was a baby and the two have been inseparable ever since. (Seriously, inseparable. She takes it everywhere. I don’t know how my brother has managed to avoid buying a second seat for it whenever they fly.)

ashley and dumpy

“I think I felt it kick!”

I’ve been on a hearts & frou-frou rampage lately; seems like every swap I join has something to do with Valentine’s Day. Only one, oddly enough, is for handmade Valentine cards, but I need to join 10 or 20 more, because I love making them!  This one features a Tim Holtz grungeboard bird wearing a crown made of copper Stickles.

birdy valentine

How obvious is it that the piece on the left is Christmas ribbon?

I made the next card to enclose an ATC in for an upcoming swap. The background is made using one my favorite techniques: torn pieces of “bleeding” tissue are placed on white cardstock, sprayed with water, then another piece of cardstock is placed on top and pressed down to transfer the color.

butterfly heart card

My next challenge is to make a Valentine’s Day card for my husband.  Easier said than done!  He prefers skulls, pirates and scary rats to flowers, hearts and frou-frou.  Maybe I’ll see if I can find one of those tattoos of a skull with a heart behind it (never mind that the heart is usually being pierced by a sword!).

And I couldn’t mention hearts without showing off this lovely stitched felt sachet given to me by my bestest gal pal, Terri.  She always does such lovely work and I am soooo lucky to have this wonderful heart.  It smells amazing!

felt heart

3 Responses to “From the Heart”

  1. Terri Says:

    Don’t you just love hearts and ribbons and lace and flowers and soft pinks – Valentines Day is such fun!

    Your card and holder turned out great and I LOVE the photo of Ashley, she’s adorable.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Quite a newsy post this was! Enjoyed reading about your sweet niece and her friend Dumpy. I wish I could get some of your Valentine enthusiasm. You are creating some pretty pieces. I am interested in that bleeding tissue technique. And the prospect of a pirate-rat-impaled heart valentine is …um…….unique…?? You must post the outcome!

  3. Barbara Hagerty Says:

    I LOVE the photo, Lisa! Your niece and Dumpy make an adorable pair!
    Love the cards, too, and I would never have guessed about the Christmas ribbon if you hadn’t mentioned it!

Leave a Reply

