Ka-Pow!!!

The local altered art group I belong to made explosion boxes at our last meeting and they were so much fun!  A lot of people use these as mini photo albums of sorts; mine will be gift boxes.  I made the three basic boxes at the meeting and dressed them up with fibers and flowers when I got home.  They turned out so cute!  And I can’t wait to see the recipients’ faces when they pull off the lid and the box – EXPLOOOOODES!!!

(Okay, technically, the boxes actually sort of just fall apart in a very non-violent way…but isn’t it more fun to imagine them exploding?)

explosion boxe

Gail, the owner of Scrappy Papers, where we meet, had an Accu-Cut die that made short work of cutting the parts for these boxes.  But it doesn’t take that long to cut your own papers if you want to make one.  There’s a great tutorial here that shows how to do it, step by step.

These boxes are the perfect size to hold a giant Hershey’s Kiss or one of the lovely candles from Bath & Body Works in their new yummy holiday scents (I like “Tree” and “Winter” the best), or you can personalize the inside of the box with photos and throw in a nice gift card.  Who wouldn’t love one?  🙂

And speaking of my altered art group, I have to give a shout out to one of our more talented members, Lucy, whose beautiful “love cards” are featured in the latest Sew Somerset magazine.  Lucy was also a top-ten finalist in the “Bad Girls” Designer contest – a fine accomplishment indeed! – and her scrapbook pages are show-stopping gorgeous.  Check out her blog when you get a chance; she does some wonderful stuff.

3 Responses to “Ka-Pow!!!”

  1. Lisa Says:

    “Exploding” definitely sound more fun!

  2. lucy e Says:

    Awww…thanks, Lisa!

    I can’t believe you finished 3 explosion boxes at the workshop! What great gifts! Sorry I missed it. Next month I will be there – I better be, seeing as I am doing the technique! ;D

  3. nan Says:

    These turned out great….I like your idea of gift boxes. I would like the one with the candle inside please ;D

Leave a Reply

