On Vacation with the Guys

Tomorrow, exactly as if we were crazy people, my husband are I are leaving the cool, perfect beauty that is October in Florida and heading to New Jersey, where we’re certain to shiver quite a lot, if not continuously, for several days.  We’re visiting my dad, who has lived there the past 18 years, and my brother and niece, who are driving from up from Iowa. 

My niece, Ashley, just turned 10 and it’s been a couple of years since we’ve seen her.  But I do remember this, if nothing else: she is totally, completely and irrevocably not a girly-girl.  Ashley loves playing sports, hanging out with the boys next door and, without fail, always chooses a decidedly masculine costume for Halloween.  No fairy princess or ballerina get-up for this kid!  Two years ago, she chose to dress up as an alien (a la Roswell); last year she called on all her manly fierceness and rocked the Viking look:

ashley the viking

“Do these chains make my butt look big?”

I asked my brother what Ashley plans to dress up as this year – an oil rig worker, maybe?  A member of a biker gang?  Bruce Willis?   He said she’d brought home several items from the costume shop that have absolutely no relation to each other, so he’s not real certain.  “Some kind of elephant thing,” he ventured.  “I’ll let her explain it to you.”

I can’t wait.  🙂

Have a great Halloween!

6 Responses to “On Vacation with the Guys”

  1. Terri Says:

    Hope you guys have a great trip! Enjoy the Big Apple!

  2. Terri Says:

    BTW, that kid is AwESoME!! She certainly did ROCK that costume.

  3. Lisa Says:

    Just saw you featured on Mind Wide Open. Congrats! That was a nice interview. Hope you have a great trip!

  4. lucy e Says:

    Hope you have a great trip! 🙂

  5. ashley Says:

    hi that is a pic of me. i get on the computer ALOT. my aunt showed me her blog and it said u could leave a comment so……yeah anyways i know about stuff i dont think..well most people think i shouldnt know thanks terri for the complement.my aunt looked just like me wen i was a kid. i saw the stachue of librety today.lots of people think im a boy wen i were my camo pants and boyish tshirts.
    i get use to it.

    my hair is about chin lingth now so aw…yeah.im trying to get it to grow out. arrrrrr.. is that wat vikings say? i know sign language. i dont know y i typed that.

  6. ashley Says:

    i forgot to tell you i went to a modeling agency and my hair was short so i cant be a model until it grows out.

Leave a Reply

