Remember that “Certs” commercial?

“You get two…two…TWO mints in one!”

Perhaps I’m showing my age.

In any event, I joined two challenges recently; one is from a fairly new art challenge blog, the Awfully Big Art Adventure, which, though I just found it a few days ago, is already a favorite. This week the challenge is to make something using a tin can. I personally don’t like anything that comes from a can (the only exception is corn, and even that’s pushing it); fortunately my husband enjoys canned soup, so we happened to have an empty one available.

The other challenge is called “Spare a Square,” in which we sent the host a 12″ square of fabric a couple weeks ago. She cut each square into ten pieces and we got ten different scraps back. The challenge is to use all ten fabrics in a project.  My set of scraps really is a challenge; the colors and designs are about as disparate as you can get!  It will be interesting to see what the others in my group come up with.

(Have I mentioned I’m not a seamstress?  Not even close.  But I do have a sewing machine and I do like things that have a “primitive” or “shabby chic” look.  Meaning I can be terribly unskilled at “real” sewing and still making something cute, so long as we pretend that I meant it to look that way.)

So I thought it would be fun to combine the challenges (two…two…TWO challenges in one!) and decorate the tin can with the fabric scraps. I sewed two pieces of each of the ten fabrics onto a rectangle of felt, leaving the edges raw for that “scrappy” look, then glued it around the can.  I won’t tell you what my husband calls this pom-pom trim (::giggle::), but I think it’s cute and it hides the top edge, which is a bit uneven. The clear gems are there because I can’t resist adding “bling” to just about every project I make.

scrappy tin can

No flowers this time, amazingly (though it wasn’t for lack of trying them to see how they’d look).

14 Responses to “Remember that “Certs” commercial?”

  1. Rosie Says:

    A fabric can – that’s just GREAT! And I like the “rustic” look too! The pom pom edge made me smile so much!! Thank you for joining in with our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie

  2. Wanda Says:

    Hey, that looks great! When I was reading about it, before scrolling down to see the picture, I was imagining all these different sizes of odd shapes that you would have to use. LOL! I was happily (for you) surprised to see that they were all similar sized rectangles – I think. I love the ball fringe, too! The pencil holder turned out to be very stylish.

  3. sherry Says:

    You are so clever!!! And this is a brilliant idea — which also looks great!!! I remember that commercial and the two certs rolls being “banged” together so they clicked!!

  4. Sandy Says:

    Wow this is really unique.
    Stunning Tin. Brilliant.

  5. Linda Says:

    I love it!! (Especially the pompoms!!!)
    Thank you so much for taking part.
    Love Linda

  6. morthanenough Says:

    Very nice. A great idea for tin can altering and it turned out so gorgeous.
    Nancy

  7. Jaqi Wright Says:

    thats a good idea, to use material. Also to do two challenges in one go….thats saved you some time. Its lovely well done, I love the way everyones is so different, thanks for sharing, Jaqi

  8. Lisa Says:

    Yes, I remember the commercial–I’ll give away my age, too! Great idea for the fabrics. That sounds like a great challenge–so unique. I am with you on the bling–love the sparkle and shine!!

  9. Kimmie Says:

    Oh this turned out really cool! It’s like you made clothes for your can …. I love it!!

  10. Carol Says:

    Brilliant idea to use fabrics !!
    Very classy
    TFS

  11. Viola Says:

    Looks so great!!

  12. Sue Says:

    Hi Lisa – what a great tin – love the fabric – something I wouldn’t have thought of in a million – lol. Your blog is very interesting to – I love the way you write – had a few chuckles and smiles while having a look through. Will visit again ….

  13. Susan M. Hickam Says:

    Love your pretty fabric tin- who can resist ball fringe?-not me! I ended up doing a Dryad.

  14. ~*~Patty Says:

    Your fabric covered tin is very original, WOW, great idea and look!!!

Leave a Reply

