From Pirates to Mermaids…it’s a short trip

I finished up another swap project the other night; in this one we’re to decorate an empty makeup compact and fill it with small treasures.  My swap partner is a musician who loves jewel tones, mermaids and dragonflies, so it was easy to come up with something she’d like.

I’ve used Cover Girl Translucent Pressed Powder (“Natural No. 1″) for approximately the last 25 years, and I just happened to have one that was almost empty when the swap was announced.  I won’t share with you just exactly how difficult it was to pry out the little metal tray that held the powder; suffice it to say they use some pretty darned strong glue in those things.

mermaid compact

My husband, as supportive of my artwork as ever, had only one comment to offer: “That mermaid looks stoned.”  (I prefer to think of her as “mellow.”)

I put little Jolee’s Boutique dragonflies on the inside (are they cute or what?!) and added a circle of paper that looks like water. I later filled the compact with tiny paper flowers and self-adhesive gems to add to the flower centers.

mermaid compact open

Wasn’t it clever of me to position the mirror so that it doesn’t reflect my messy studio?

5 Responses to “From Pirates to Mermaids…it’s a short trip”

  1. Joy at Cupids Charm Says:

    Hi Lisa! I love your work! I wanted to let you know you won the contest I had on my blog for the Marie Antoinette necklace!!! Please send me your address so I can mail your jewelry to you! Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. Happy Monday!!! ~ xoxo ~ Joy

  2. lucy e Says:

    Love to see how you are going to use up your Jolee’s stash! lol Recycling a compact is a clever idea! I think she looks very mellow! Wonderful project, Lisa. 🙂

  3. Lisa Says:

    Love the altered compact! Love your description! Your blog is so much fun!

  4. Sherry Says:

    You are so clever using an old make-up compact for this!! And your mermaid is bright and er, quite possibly stoned (your husband is quite funny!!).

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Too cute….she does look VERY mellow! I love reading your blog too!

Leave a Reply

