What I Need is More Paper

Hi, my name is Lisa and I’m addicted to paper.  (What?  I’m in the wrong meeting?  Oh, sorry – I thought this was…okay, I can take a hint!  I’m leaving.  Wait, are those ham sandwiches?)

My favorite paper company is daisy d’s (which I only just noticed is spelled in all lower-case) and I subscribe to their monthly newsletter.  Each month they sponsor a contest for items made with their papers.  July’s newsletter mentioned that only one person had entered the June contest (Father’s Day projects) and thus won first prize by default!  (My husband claims she should have won all three prizes.  Hmmm.)  Anyway, I figured if the competition is that low, I’d have a pretty good chance in future contests.

July’s challenge was to create party decorations.  Using the “Girlfriends” line of papers, I made this birthday cake centerpiece, using three papier-mache hatboxes as the base.  It took much longer than I expected it would, but was really fun to do. (My messy studio now features an attractive layer of spray adhesive and tinsel glitter.)  I took several photos of the centerpiece in different areas, as the contest required only a photo, not the actual project itself (thankfully). 

This pic is my favorite, though it wasn’t suitable for the contest entry.  I snapped it about three seconds before Boo-Boo the marauding cat ate a chunk of tinsel off the second tier.

boo boo sniffs cake

Mmmmm…kiwi frosting.

Oh, and apparently two other people entered the contest this month – I won third prize!  Which means I will soon be the recipient of even more paper.  (Can’t beat that with a stick!)

3 Responses to “What I Need is More Paper”

  1. dani Says:

    Send me your address and I will get your goodies to you!!
    ambitionsdesign@yahoo.com

  2. Sherry Says:

    OMG…I swear Lisa, every time I come here I laugh. You are just that kind of person who touches the spot — you know the one! I adore your irreverant humour and your sparkling spirit!!

    Congrats onf 3rd prize at daisy d – I love their paper too…

    And btw…if you find a 12 step program for paperphiles…call me!!!!!

  3. Terri Says:

    CONGRATS Chickie!!

    I have to say, after seeing 1st and 2nd place – what were those judges thinking? Your Cake clearly is 1st Place Stuff!

    Boo-Boo thought it was good enough to eat!

Leave a Reply

