Think Pink Charms Exchange

If you love to create and want to help in the fight to find a cure for breast cancer, look no further than Amber Dawn’s Think Pink Charms Exchange. There’s no sign-up deadline and there’s still time to make something wonderful! The participants send 12 charms (suitable for a charm bracelet) and get ten back. All pink, of course. You can see examples of what she’s received so far on the site. LOVE them all.

I got a good start on my charms over the past couple days while I was off work, but it’s slow going and a little frustrating. I tried a technique I’ve never done before; doing a transfer onto polymer clay with T-shirt transfer paper. I created the image in my photo editing program and printed a whole bunch of them out at 1-1/2″ wide each, then rolled and cut the clay to size.

So far I’ve made 18 charms; of those, only six are what I would consider good enough for the swap. (Not real great odds!) Of the rest, seven burned up in the oven when I switched to a different brand of clay and didn’t realize it needed a lower temp (oops) and the image didn’t transfer completely on the remainder. Apparently this is rather a hit-and-miss technique! But I will persevere and reach my goal of 12 charms, even if it takes three more packages of clay! (Perhaps I’d better go buy some.)

pink charms

This is such a lousy picture!  The bottom one looks weird because the glaze hadn’t dried completely.  You can’t tell from looking at them, but the backgrounds are sheet music.  (It’s much more obvious in reality.)

5 Responses to “Think Pink Charms Exchange”

  1. Amber Says:

    These are really lovely pieces.
    New LIFE is the theme, New life set to MUSIC!
    *Smiles*

    Very good “hidden” meanings!
    Very inspirational!
    Thank you for joining us!

    I love them!

    Amber Dawn

  2. vhiel Says:

    I am giving away a diaper changing pad and a tote over at my blog.. if you get a chance drop by and check it out. If you like it you are more than welcome to join in.

    Diaper Changing Pad

    Tote Giveaway

    Thanks and see you there.
    Vhiel

  3. Nan Says:

    These are so pretty. Love the sheet music idea. You really were industrious
    trying all thses techniques at once. Ithink the reciprients will be very pleased 🙂

  4. Terri Says:

    The ones that ‘hit’ are awesome! Very pretty!

  5. Sherry Says:

    I didn’t do the charms, but I did do the Pink Artist project with Monica Magness for the Love Squared doll.

    As a breast cancer survivor who just passed the 3 year mark, I am so thrilled with what you have done .

Leave a Reply

