The Wonderful Thing About Swaps

I am SO into swapping lately!  In a moment of sheer kookiness, I signed up for a Disney-themed matchbox swap.  We’re supposed to use the 32-ct matchboxes, but you can hardly fit a thing on them (the top surface is something like 1-1/2″ x 2″), so I opted to use the big ol’ mega-matchboxes, the kind that hold approximately 80 kazillion matches.  Those are more like 2-1/2″ x 4″ – plenty of room to make a decent design.  (We were assigned two swap partners and we mail directly to them, so the extra weight isn’t an issue.)

I asked each of my partners if they had a particular Disney character preference, and both said anything goes (the second adding, however, that she had enough of “Pooh and his pals” already).  The first one mentioned in her profile that she loves tigers, so I decided on a Tigger design for her.

tigger box

The box was painted with three shades of brown acrylic to look like wood.  Dyed paper towels (a la Tracy Bautista) outlined with a gold paint pen were used for the background.  The stamped letters spell “the wonderful thing about tiggers” around the perimeter of the box.  I hope my swap partner likes it!

I’ve been jonesin’ to break out my glitter lately, so the second box is going to have a Tinkerbell design.  (I’m pretty sure there’s a law somewhere forbidding one to create a Tinkerbell design without the use of glitter.  No harm in playing it safe.)

One Response to “The Wonderful Thing About Swaps”

  1. Terri Says:

    I do love me some Tigger! Very nice, Chick.

Leave a Reply

