Inchies

Okay, so I’ve resisted anything to do with inchies in the past.  I mean, how do you make effective art in a one-inch space without needing a magnifying glass?  But then I discovered – oh my! – someone is hosting a BIRD inchie swap on the ATCs for All site!  And some of the artwork posted so far is simply gorgeous and amazing and not too small to see without powerful visual aids after all.  Who’da thunk it?

The best thing about making inchies?  It doesn’t take long!  I adhered a transparency to a dyed paper towel (I made a giant stack of dyed towels about a month ago, inspired by Tracy Bautista’s book, Collage Unleashed), cut it into 1″ squares, stamped a bird with Staz-On, outlined with gold paint pen and added a little gem.  Half an hour to make ten of them!  And they were a ton of fun to boot.

  (many times actual size!)

I’ll get nine different bird inchies back and plan to make a 3×3 grid to use as a journal cover or as part of a collage.  I’m so anxious to see them all.  Hooray for birds and hooray for inchies!

2 Responses to “Inchies”

  1. Cindy Says:

    One of the mags, Somerset Memories I think, or maybe Stamper Sampler is having a challenge for inchies. Looked kinda fun. Will have to try the paper towel thing, it looks cool.

    c

  2. Veronica Says:

    I found a few sites with some fabric inchies…they were ever so cute! some day…..

Leave a Reply

