Houston, We Have ATCs

So I’ve been an ATC-makin’ fool lately!  This first batch is for an Artchix Studio swap called “Royal Birds.”  We had to use at least one image from a selection of their collage sheets; I chose “Bird on a Wire” because the images are the most versatile.  I also used one image on each ATC from their “Mystical” collage sheet.  Love those moons and clocks and zodiac charts and such!  The backgrounds are made with paper from a very old ledger book I found at the thrift store.

royal birds sr

I also made 35 (count ‘em!) ATCs to trade at the Quilt Festival in Houston this week.  I’ve spent most of the day packing and am ready to go first thing tomorrow morning.  Yee-haw!  (As I imagine they say in Texas.) Houston is pretty much an all-day drive straight west from here; the weather is very similar to ours, except much drier.  So I packed some lotion and am good to go!

The Quilting Arts/Cloth Paper Scissors people will be there, sponsoring awesome classes (fingers crossed I make it into all the lottery ones!), mixed-media demos, a raffle drawing and an ATC swap.  Participants were encouraged to make 35 ATCs because this is the festival’s 35th year.  I met the challenge head-on, and while it took a few days, I got all 35 done!  I didn’t have time to photograph them all, so here’s a small sampling:

atcs houston sr

Hopefully I’ll find time to post from the show.  I went for the first time back in 2007 and it was rather overwhelming!  My camera is going to get quite a workout.  :)

2 Responses to “Houston, We Have ATCs”

  1. Pokey Bolton Says:

    Love your ATCs! See you soon!

  2. Su Ward Says:

    Your ATC’s are absolutely lovely. They must have taken a while to do. I’m sure the people that swap with you will be delighted with what they recieve. I only wish that I lived near enough to go along to the same venue and join in with the swapping. As I in France it’s just a wee bit too far sadly.
    Hope that you have a fab time there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

